On the southwest Miramichi, near the York County boundary. In 1832 Robert Cooney wrote: 'Mr. Thomas Boies,
an active and enterprising American, lately established a village, popularly called Boiestown after its founder.'
Established as a company town, it included, in addition to the Boies sawmill, a theatre, a non-denominational church,
and workmen's houses. Boies sold his interest in the company in 1835. the post office dates from 1940.
Business listings for Boiestown
Central New Brunswick Museum
Route 8, 1.6 km east of town
Showcases the early forestry industry in New Brunswick. Exhibits include tools, documents, photographs, a rebuilt trapper's cabin, man-made lake, and 26 hectares (65 acres) of woods to explore on self-guiding trails. Open May to end of Sept. Admission fee.
Priceville Suspension Bridge
Rte 8, exit at Brandon, to Horton Road, the Carroll's Crossing Road
About 10 km east of Boistown, and then a further 3.5 k m from Rte 8
This bridge is located on the Southwest Mimirmichi River